chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($545 USD)
access_time 9 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Ever since, I have been depending on my brothers for everything even our basic needs. This had made my in-laws see me as a burden as I would not even afford to buy food for my family. My transfers came in handy as it enabled me to achieve a lot of things that would not have been possible. I have been able to practice farming and I am optimistic of a good harvest. I am now glad since I will not depend on other people too much this year.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was early in the morning when one of my inlaws informed me that GiveDirectly had started sending money to some people. When she checked mine, I became so happy when she informed me about the good news. I knew that I would be able to achieve a lot of things using this money.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my first transfer, I spent part of it on farming. I hired a tractor for land preparation purposes and also bought some maize seeds and fertilizers. Also, I bought some building materials to use in building myself a house. I spent the remaining amount on food, clothing and beddings for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I will be able to afford basic needs for my children, in that I plan to buy two dairy cattle which in turn will earn me some income upon selling milk daily. The remaining part of my transfer will enable me to initiate poultry farming which will earn me some income also whenever i sell eggs so as to supplement the income from dairy farming.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I usually spend my day engaging in casual jobs in people's farms from morning till evening. It has never been a guarantee to get a job to engage in each day and so whenever I'm lucky to get one, evening becomes the happiest part of my day since its the time i am paid my day's wages meaning i am able to buy food for my children
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship i have faced is unreliable source of income. I do casual jobs in people's farms and it's never a guarantee to get such jobs on a daily basis, thus providing basic needs for my children is a struggle