chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Anjelina's Profile
Anjelina's family
Anjelina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
73
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Anjelina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 8 bags of cement for 6,000 KES, sand for 7,000 KES, 2 wooden windows for 3,000 KES, wooden door for 4,500 KES, paints for 8,100 KES and paid 8,500 KES as labour charges to plaster the walls and floor of the house. I also bought a bag of maize for 3,600 KES, water expenses during the construction period was 1,500 KES and the rest was spent on buying food in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have managed to plaster the walls and floor of my house and this has helped to strengthen the walls and the floor is also very easy to clean.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on going to my in law's funeral ksh 4000 and used the remaining part on meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to do repairs in my house to look neat.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,I am planning to plaster my house both the interior and the exterior part inorder to prevent the spread of diseases that are dust-born . Secondly,I am planning to buy a dairy Cow that will supply me with milk on a daily basis.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I managed to educate my children single handedly and I am happy that they are now responsible and independent people.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I cannot afford to raise money inorder to seek treatment for my sickness.I have joint pain that is on and off and I find it difficult to sleep at night because I'm in pain.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I'm relaxing and I'm all alone with my thoughts.