chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Everline's Profile
Everline's family
Everline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Everline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 20000 kshs of the transfer to buy cow-bull, l spent 10000 kshs to buy donkey, l also paid fees if 10000 kshs to my child in secondary school, l also bought cushions worth 5000 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l now get water easily because of the donkey l have.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a matress 5,000KES, and 3,200KES on buying seeds (tomato, groundnuts maize and beans) for planting. I also spent 500KES on buying pesticides for my vegetable garden, and 500KES on school uniform for the children. The remaining 800KES was spent on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy oxen for ploughing my pieces of land for cultivation, and a donkey for carrying water for domestic use. I also hope to pay school fees for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to improve my home by constructing a new house because this one is small and the roof is also worn out. I would like to spend the remaining amount on school fees because I have a daughter in form two whom I've not cleared her fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest of owning a home that will be inherited by my son's in future when I die.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I don't have a proper source of income hence sometimes my family goes without a meal and I cannot also afford to pay school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when cleaning my compound because I enjoy staying in a clean environment.