chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Stephen's Profile
Stephen's family
Stephen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Entertainment/sport (works for others)
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Stephen's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($194 USD)
access_time 3 days ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to boost my business. I want to buy items in bulk that will enable me to reach more customers and consequently make more profits. I believe that when I take care of the customer's needs, I will be able to maximize my profits and hence better my living standards.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now have my own business. Out of the profits that I have already made, I have been able to take care of my needs easily unlike before when I could struggle to fix every need with the little that I got from casual jobs. Today, I have even learned the art of prioritizing my needs and what is most important for my business to succeed.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to start a business of selling shoes. The business is so lucrative in this area and being that I had yearned to have started it for a long time, I decided to take the opportunity right away. Before then, I used to sell water or transporting people's goods using a cart but the income was too little. I cannot regret starting this business because I now get more income which I have been using to sustain myself well. I also bought bedding and clothes. My house had burnt down some months a go and I had to start all over again. I had started buying things but on a slow pace. I had only managed to buy a mattress. I thank GiveDirectly for changing my life.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
When I woke in the morning I held my phone to check the time. In the process, I saw a message and out of curiosity, I read it. To my surprise, GiveDirectly had just sent me the transfers which I was eagerly waiting for. I was so happy but kept calm and decided to start planning on how to use the money well.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to open a new business of selling shoes in Easleigh. Many people come to Easleigh to buy goods making it a commercial hab for business in eastlands. The influx of people in Easleigh provides a ready market, therefore, expecting to make alot of profit in return. Secondly, I will buy clothes and household items in my house. My house burned down when fire broke out in our residence In february this year. I was at work that night in Westlands doing decorations. When I came back from work in the morning, I could not believe my eyes the place I called home has now been reduced to ashes. Since then I have been depending on welwishers for food, sleep and clothing. Recently, I rented a house and I expect to buy household items to furnish it. Thirdly, I will save my money and plan on increasing stock of my business of selling shoes.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because I will not be able to sustain my life. I will be unable to pay rent or provide food on my table. Failure to pay rent or buy food can force me to be thrown out of my house or be forced to go upcountry or beg for sleep and food. I may result to engage in criminal activities to make ends meet. This will have a negative impact in my life because I might be arrested and serve a jail term or lose my life to mob justice or trigger happy policemen.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a successful businessman in future. I would want to sell shoes in bulk. I will buy second hand shoes in Gikomba market and be able to sell in the local markets around the country. I hope to maximize the profit I get from the sale of this business . This will help to improve my life and be able to sustain my life and that of my family in future.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual day depends with my work of decorations. Which I mostly work on Friday and Sundays. When there is work, I wake up early in the morning at 6:00am. Take bath, have breakfast in a nearby kiosk then leave for work until 6:00pm in the evening when I return back home. I do some house chores or wash clothes or relax at home then I prepare for supper. When I am not going to work, I wake up at 8:00am have breakfast then I do some casual jobs in the village. I fetch water which I charge ten shillings per jerrican in the neighborhood. In my free time I like to watch movies or play games