GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Lilian's Profile
Lilian's family
Lilian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent most of the transfer to buy building materials as l am planning to build a nice permanent house, l also spent the transfer to buy solar lump and the remaining balance l spent to buy mattress.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that now l have hopes that l will achieve my dreams, l am also sleeping comfortably because l spent the transfer to buy matterss.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first cash transfer to purchase 7 pieces of iron sheets worth 4500KES,uniforms 1400KES,sweater 2000KES and bought food with the rest of the money.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming cash transfer to construct a big house and buy some dairy cattle.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy cement, sand, iron roofing sheets, nails, timber and round poles which I will use to build a better house for my family. The remaining transfers will be used to buy some oxen which will assist me when I am tilling my farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started working in peoples farms as a casual worker and diligently saving my earnings. The first batch of savings that I had was used to buy a goat which late gave birth to kids. I later sold the offspring and bought a cow which gave birth to calves, after a while I sold the cattle and bought building materials which I used to build my current house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income. My main source of income is casual labour jobs but these are not consistent, I have children who are in school and their fee arrears need to be cleared, if I am unable to raise the required fees they may drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is usually in the morning when I wake. I get to spend time with my family as we prepare to go to work or school and this makes me very happy.