chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Carpentry
faceAge:
21
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfers in that I have bought a heifer. I buy milk everyday, This is so costly for me because I do not have a continuous source of income. I depend on small scale farming and poultry keeping project to earn an income. The amount of money that I get through this is so small and cannot meet all the basic needs of the family including paying school fees. When my dairy cow reproduce I will no longer buy milk. I will cut the cost of buying milk daily and invest on other projects at home. I had always wished to own a dairy cow but because I didn't had money it was not possible. I am so happy because GiveDirectly has enabled me to own a dairy cow. I have devoted much of my time on this project and I will grow it to another level.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly does well by giving money to the poor in the community to build better houses and to buy dairy cows. I do not find anything that GiveDirectly did not do well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spend part of the money I received from GiveDirectly to buy a heifer at a cost 17000 Ksh.This will enabled me cut the cost of buying milk daily which is so expensive. I also bought a solar and a battery for lighting. My children have light for doing there homework. Buying paraffin everyday is so costly and whenever I didn't had money it's so challenging for my children The rest of the money I bought hens and food for the family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I have lived using a small old house as a kitchen for quite a while with hopes that I will build a bigger one. The moment I received my transfers was the happiest time of my life as I immediately reflected on the small kitchen I had and I would completely change it by building another bigger and decent one to replace it.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I do farming to be able to provide for my family. I have had a dream of making my farming more profitable but due to scarce resources, I haven't been able to. The biggest difference in my daily life since I received my first transfer from GiveDirectly is the sheep that I currently own. I feel empowered since this an added asset I currently have on my farm and I believe this will bear me many offsprings that I will soon convert to a heifer and my farm continues to grow.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
It was my happiness receiving cash transfers from GiveDirectly since I had a lot of plans to undertake in life without the financial ability to execute them. I first took KES25000 to buy building materials that include building poles, iron sheets, nails and paid a carpenter to build me a kitchen. I am happy that this soon coming to be real once the carpenter gets time for me. As a way of investing, I used KES6400 to buy sheep and six hens as added assets on my farm. These are assets that I will always rely on and am assured they will grow and multiply making me richer. I took the remaining amount to spent on both household items, furniture and more so our family needs, clothing and daily food.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
As a young growing family, to adapt to this life is a bit challenge more so when you don't have a stable income. I am a carpenter and the little I earn goes to basic needs. I have been dreaming of purchasing a dairy cow of our own. Now we depend on my parent to assist us with milk. I have been seen this as a burden I am giving them since they have other children to cater for. God willing we receive these transfers, I will purchase a dairy cow of 25,000 shillings and use the rest for the expansion of my kitchen.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is the evening. It is at this time because I get time to rest after toiling and moiling doing household chores and weeding my vegetables.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Since I don't have any source of income I depend on my husband. From his carpenter work, he can earn around 250 shillings per day. This supposes now to cater to all the basic needs of around 300 shillings. Lack of a stable source of income has been our biggest hardship because what we get cannot march to cater our basic needs.