GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Gabriel's Profile
Gabriel's family
Gabriel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Gabriel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on starting a cobler and barber business.I also bought a mattress,blanket ,water container and a food for my household.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have an income from my businesss hence I can meet daily income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy three goats (7000), food and clothes (2800).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to invest in my cobbler/shoes business, buy a bed, mattress and food.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to open up a business to generate income to sustain my family. Secondly l would wish to use part of the money to expand my house because it is small to accommodate my family. Finally l would like to buy household items for my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l used to stay in a grass thatched house which was really leaking and now I have built iron roofed house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to do better farming and to open up a business.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when having made shoes and found some money to buy food for my family.