chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Daniel's Profile
Daniel's family
Daniel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
66
homeHousehold Size:
2
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Daniel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 16 pieces of sheets ksh 11270,poles ksh 12000,labor ksh 5000,nails ksh 1000,smearing ksh 2000,transport ksh 500 and used balance on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that now i am in a comfortable house .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a new bicycle, it is the one am riding right now; I do not walk on foot again.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
i plan to build an iron roofed house, because the house an currently staying in is very small and in poor condition.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a bicycle so that I can easily travel to the market. I will also buy iron sheets and timber which I will use to enlarge my house. The rest of the transfers will be used to purchase some cows, these will be used to pay dowry for my wife.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked in a cotton mill and from the money I saved I eventually built a house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face is lack of sufficient food, this means that we usually have only one meal a day, I also do not have enough money to buy a bicycle and this means that I have to walk to the market which is difficult to do at my advanced age.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the when I wake up, it makes me very happy to be able to thank the Lord for granting me life.