<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Maritha's Profile
Maritha's family
Maritha
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($252 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
I have been engaging in a small scale business of buying fish from the fishermen and later re-selling to my customers within the locality at a small fee. I have been relying on the business as a way of keeping my family afloat because I use the proceeds to buy food for my kids and all the daily needs of the family.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
My goal right now is to cement both the interior and exterior parts of the house so that I transform the building into a semi-permanent structure. The building needs to be cemented so that it can last for so many years into the future. If this does not happen then it will become easy for the rains to wash away the walls and probably make the building collapse. a
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
I built a new kitchen structure and stopped cooking in an open space which was quite harmful to our health as a family. Moreover, it became quite difficult cooking in the open space during harsh weather conditions, especially during the rainy seasons.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I have a plan of starting a small scale business that I can rely on and use to sustain my family far much better than what the fishmongering business has been generating. The problem with relying on the fishmongering business is that it is unreliable, for instance, currently, there are restrictions on fishing because the number of fish have reduced significantly, so for the next few months we will have to do without the business until such a time when the fishermen are allowed back into the waters.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($254 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I do not have any new goal.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
We have always had food to eat since I received this transfer and I was able to pay school fees in time before my son was sent out of school.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I would want to plaster my house, pay school fees in time and to buy a goat.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have always been depending on my husband's provision but of late he has been down financially and life has been tough for us. Since we received this transfer, life has been easy and I don't struggle anymore.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of enough income to sustain my large family. I depends on working in farms as a casual labouror to earn income. Budgeting for my family and paying school fees has not been easy
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening while sharing meals as a family since it's when we can gather and talk more about issues affecting us
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to spend the first transfer to pay school fees for my child in high school and use the remaining amount to constract kitchen where I will use it both for cooking and store my grains after harvest
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My eldest son joinig high school was my proudest achievement. I was not able to finish my O-level of education and seeing my son in school usually motivate me to work more to ensure he finishes his studies