GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
House construction
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid school fees of 10000 KES, bought 20 pieces of iron sheets for 13000 KES, timber 4500 KES,nails 2400 KES,poles 2000 KES, construction labor 5000 KES, solar lamp for 3000 KES and spent some on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved since I now live in four room house and educating my child peacefully without being sent home often to collect school fees.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 3,000 KES to pay my son in high school fee. Bought a matress worth 2,000 KES. I also purchased foodstuffs with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house because the current one is too small and in bad shape. I'm also planning to pay my son in high school fee.
access_time almost 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to educate my son who is struggling with school fee in third form. I am also plan to expand my house because it's small, and open a vegetable kiosk where I can earn some daily income and meet the financial needs of my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest that I have been a good mother to my children, I have ensured that they eat and go to school even in hardship.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of sufficient resources to meet food and education needs of my family because I have no job and my spouse has no reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my children are back home from school and we are having a family talk of how the day was. I am very happy when I am around my children.