chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Gilbert's Profile
Gilbert's family
Gilbert
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Gilbert's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($544 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been living with humble and peaceful minds since I spent part of my first transfer on my children school fee and on building a new house that I currently live in. Among the biggest goals that I had for my life is to give my children good education and building a new house that I could live in order to have better comfort than spending my nights with grown-up children. I am a casual laborer and I always priorities my children education among my family needs since it is always my goal to see them a better life in future than mine but due to little wages I earn I could find my children being sent home during school terms since I could not clear their fee on time. I had also always felt uncomfortable spending my night under the same roof with children because I was not able to build another house due to lack of enough resources. I had always worked under a lot of pressure to meet this two goals but I am happy currently that I have humble and peaceful minds since I have settled the school fees for my children on time and have a better and different house to spend my nights in unlike before.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
Immediately I saw a message notification at around midnight that I had received money from GD, I was left sleepless over the remaining part of the night. I could not believe that it was true since I had no trusted GD during enrollment. I started imagining living in a different house with my grown-up children a dream that I had built in mind for long but due to lack of resource, I wasn't able to see it come true.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I had built a small house shortly after I got married some times back with an aim and hopes of having a bigger and more decent with time but this had not come to reality due to ever-rising family basic needs and household expenditures. I am a casual laborer dedicated to ever support my children hence I always work hard to meet their needs. I spend most of my wages on my children schools fees and other daily household needs a situation that had always paralyzed my goal of having a bigger and decent house. After receiving my first transfer from GD, I spend KES26000 to build an iron-roofed house that has made me comfortable since I currently do not share the same roof with my grown-up children like before. I also spent KES15000 to pay school fees for my children since my casual jobs do not have a steady flow of income hence relying on this had always forced my children to spend some their school days at home whenever they are sent to collect money. I am so happy that going future I will be able to raise the required money on time now that GD has raised the most immediate hence giving me humble time to struggle for the future terms fee. Since we receive low rainfalls in our area, farming is not doing well hence food shortage had been my household challenge. I spent KES7000 on my household food and other daily household basic needs and expenditures.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will lighten the burden i have in terms of paying school fees for my three children who study in the nearby academy school. I will also use part of my tranfer to build a bigger house since the one i currently live in with my family is smaller. The remaining part of the tranfer will be used to buy deworming medicines for my cattle and goats and other suppliments that will help stimulate more milk production.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening. This is the time i head home after work carrying food for my family. Spending dinner time with my family every evening gives me joy as i thank God for the success of the day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial constrains is the biggest hardship i am currently facing. I work as a security guard and the money i earn aint sufficient to cater for the needs of my family. My three children study in a nearby academy school meaning i spend a bigger part of my salary in school fees which keeps me asking myself whether i will ever engage in bigger projects like building a bigger house and getting capital to start my own business.