chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought sand 7000 KES, soil 6500 KES, cement 4500 KES, labor charges 10200 KES, bed 3500 KES, maize 3000 KES, school fees 500 KES , saving 2000 KES and the rest I spent on food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am planning to start a grocery business as my new goal.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
We now live comfortably in a nice house that I built with the transfer. My family does not go without food like before.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also added capital to my grocery business and paid school fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have good income from my grocery business hence I have money to pay school fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought bedding , utensils ,and for medication.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to build plaster my house , l also plan to buy a sheep and to start a business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan build a house, pay school fees for my children, buy beddings and household items I lack, I also plan to start a business
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My greatest achievement in life is being able to take care of my children after my husband's death, I feel proud
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My greatest hardship in life right now is being a single parent
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up healthy and my kids are healthy too