chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > James's Profile
James's family
James
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on James's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20,000 KES to pay part of a group loan I had taken to buy a deep freezer, I am planning to buy broilers with the remaining 30,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since I bought the deep freezer, I started a business of selling ice blocks to those selling sodas with cooler boxes. This has given me a steady income and am able to meet my daily household expenses with ease.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the token to increase my shares in a chicken project that belongs to a group sponsored by a bank. i hope to increas my profits as well.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy an incubator for hatching eggs for the chicken business. I also plan to buy a deep freezer for making icecream for selling, as a money generating activity.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy an incubator so as to improve on my poultry farming and use the rest of the transfer on my children's education.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest that I have a family and that I am working hard to ensure that my children are in school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is marital conflict. I have had to be a mother to my children for many years as my first wife went away. I am only one year old with my current spouse.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am with my children and exchanging our experiences of the day. My children are a source of joy to me.