GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Joshua's Profile
Joshua's family
Joshua
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
54
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Joshua's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES to buy two bulls, bought 14 iron sheets for 8,400 KES, poles and nails cost 5,000 KES and paid 3,500 KES as labour to enlarge my house. I also spent 4,000 KES to pay school fees. (Added some money from other sources to pay school fees)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have managed to enlarge my house and now it is bigger enough to contain my belongings and the bulls I bought will help me to plough my farms.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5000 KES of my token payment on 2 goats then I paid school fees for my son using 4000 KES and
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am longing for 2 oxen and a plow and therefore I will buy them when I get my lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying two bulls hat I can use in ploughing my farm, I will also buy two goats, I am planning to renovate my house by buying bags of cement that will be used in plastering the floor of my house and the walls. I will spend part of my transfer on paying school fees for my child who is secondary school and the remaining amount I will spend on building a house for my eldest son who is in Nairobi so that when he comes home he will have a place to stay in.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to build my house using cash that I got from the sale of cotton that I had planted on my farm hence I now proudly have a house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting a job in the village is not easy and when I get one casual job, the pay is very little and this has made me not to lead a comfortable life as when I don't get anything I am forced to go to bed hungry without a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and start burning charcoal and I get a ready market for that day, I feel happy as I am able to meet my basic needs for the day which most importantly is food for my family.