chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
50
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a kitchen with 40000 KES, bought a wheelbarrow 4800 KES and started a mitumba business with 5000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is having built a kitchen where my children and visitors can sleep besides cooking and keeping my chickens.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on stocking my 2nd hand clothes business for 4,000 KES and repaying school fee debt for 6,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on building a new kitchen, upgrading my main house, buying small livestock, repairing my latrine and stocking my 2nd hand clothes business
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to cement my house since maintaining mud house is easy. Secondly l would wish to build a new pit latrine which is more permanent to avoid frequent maintance. Finally l would like to build a kitchen for cooking and to act as sleeping room for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to build my own house since before I used not to have a house but now I have built my own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family forcing to give my relatives some of my children to take for me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after selling clothes and getting money to buy food for my children.