GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Reuben's Profile
Reuben's family
Reuben
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Reuben's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I cleared the balance of my second hand motorcycle with 20000 KES and I paid dowry with the remaining 30000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now cycling my own motorcycle without riding for others at a commission and therefore I have been enjoying full commission since then as a business owner- my income has increased and therefore I have been able to provide a little luxuries to my household members and therefore more love, that is the biggest difference in my daily.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the token payment to top up my savings and bought a business motorbike.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to clear a motorbike debt of 20000 KES and pay dowry with the lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a new motorcycle as transport business is what gives me my daily bread and the remaining amount I will buy cushions for my seats as they don't have any.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to buy land and build my home using money that I worked so hard for in the business of sand harvesting.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is in terms of school fees as I have many children and my motorcycle transport business is not able to pay for all of them fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I come home from work in the evening and I have brought food that will be prepared by my wife, I am happy to know that my family will have something to eat for that day.