chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Karembo's Profile
Karembo's family
Karembo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
42
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that I am now sleeping on the bed with mattresses, unlike before when I use to sleep on the floor. I also reduced my loan and purchased 5 goats which I am raising hoping they will reproduce to be able to have to educate my children.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, I thank Givedirectly for the aid which changed life for the better. I was able to acquire 10 sheets, I purchased 2 beds mattress for $200 with my first transfer. Also, I had purchased solar on credit and I was able to pay $120 to reduce my loan.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer to purchase 10 iron sheets for the construction of a house for my grown-up boys. This is because they were spending their nights in the same house with me which is against our culture. I also paid school fees for my 4 children for the whole year. The remaining amount assisted me to purchase enough food for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was having lunch with my family when I heard my phone ringing informing me of a message. On checking, it was an Mpesa message informing me that I had received my first transfer from GiveDirectly. I felt happy even as I began to plan for it.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Owning goats so far is the biggest difference in my daily life. I do menial jobs and the little income may not be enough to save for my my children's education. These goats are the only valuable assets that will help me in this case. I am expecting them to reproduce and increase in number. Since I do not have a stable source of income, I feel this will be a saving for the future of my children's education. I will be able to sell the offsprings so as to raise fees for them.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had not replaced my bedding and that of my children for a long time. When I received the transfer, I spent KES 14000 on buying two mattresses to replace the old ones I have been using. In addition to this, I also purchased five goats which I am keeping as assets. To me, these goats will help me to educate my children who are still young. Apart from this, I also bought a solar panel for lighting my household. Lastly, I spent the remaining amount to pay for my daughters college fees. She was joining to further her studies thus I paid the tuition fees for her to begin her studies.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have been working as a school cook, a job that earns me 5000 shillings only per month. This income is very low and I have wished to start my own shop to manage within our village but this ambition has never materialized due to financial challenges. With the arrival of GiveDirectly, my hope of got renewed and I am happy to know that soon, I will have the opportunity to start the shop and I intend to spend 60,000 shillings to accomplish this. This will mean a stable source of income that will fully cater to my family's very basic needs like food and school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spend the better part of my day doing my charcoal job at the bush and this means my day is fully occupied with work. I only find time to relax and also to meet my children in the evening when I am back at home. Therefore, evening is the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The corona pandemic has been a blow to me since I lost my job as a school cook. This means engaging myself in odd jobs like charcoal burning to earn cash to support my family's basic needs. Therefore, I consider the lack of a stable source of income as the biggest hardship that I have ever faced.