chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Stephen's Profile
Stephen's family
Stephen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Stephen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second cash transfer to purchase 20 pieces of iron sheet worth 12000KES,sand 14000KES,school fees10000KES,sheep 7500KES,timber 6000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have managed to purchase building materials and cleared my brother's school fees for the whole year.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my token payment, I spent 7000 KES on 10 iron sheets, I spent 1500 KES on a suit case, and the remaining 1500 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When I will get this my upcoming lumpsum payment, I will build a semi-permanent house of 30 iron sheets.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use part of the money to build a three roomed house then use the remaining to pay for a mechanics course.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is I worked hard and bought two cows.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship am facing is, I am homeless and I sleep in my grandmother's kitchen another thing is I need to train in mechanics but I don't have a the finance to enable me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am working on my farm land.