chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 9 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life since I started receiving the transfers from Give Directly is that I now have my own cow. This has been my dream since I got married three years ago. Due to low income for both of us from casual work, this has not been possible. When I started receiving the transfers, this is what I thought of and I have been saving part of my monthly transfers for the same. I first bought a sheep which I have sold and topped up the money to buy my own cow. I feel very proud because I have made a big step in my life.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I would want to improve on my farming. I will use part of my transfers to buy hybrid seeds, fertilizers and hiring labour whenever I am overwhelmed with the work. I am sure this will help me get better harvest than what I have been getting when I use manual methods. When I get good harvest, I can sell part of it to raise money for other needs which easen my financial burdens.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Since I started receiving these transfers, life has been a bit easy on me. I do not struggle as I used to before the transfers. Apart from having my own cow, we have never gone without food. Casual work was our main source of income yet it was not consistent and with low income. Due to many family financial demands, at times we would lack food just to fulfil other needs but since I started receiving the transfers, I have been able to budget well with it. Thirdly, I feel proud because my children are rarely sent home for school fees. In the past, they never missed on those who are being sent home for school fees. This is because casual work could not provide enough to meet all my family demands hence I would miss paying fees in time. In as much as I still have some balance in school, it is not much for them to be sent home. This really makes me happy and thanks to GD.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Since I do not have a stable source of income, I would want to ensure my children are always in school studying. I would not want them to be sent home for school fees hence I will use part of my transfers to pay their fees to avoid the shame of them sitting home while others are studying.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is school fees.I have a son, Kennedy from Kaudha day secondary school who is sent home most oftenly for lack of school fees because I cannot raise his school fees on time.He is now in form three and would love him to complete his education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up and face a new day with a lot of energy to start my household chores and finishes up on time.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend my transfer on starting a small scale shop business.This will support my children with food and clothes through the profit I shall have made.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is building an outside kitchen specifically for my four daughters to sleep in. They used to sleep away from home at a neighbour's house.For now, they're very comfortable with this kitchen.