chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Stella's Profile
Stella's family
Stella
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($499 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life has changed a lot since I received the first and the second transfer from GievDirectly. I have managed to construct, obtained new furniture, livestock and also cleared school fees for my children. I am grateful since all these would not have been possible if I had not received the support.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Allowing us to choose how best we could send the transfer was the best decision by GiveDirectly after giving us the support. I am glad that I got to address the most pressing needs first. No one has ever complained since we were enrolled however, there are a few households that were promised to be enrolled by the visiting officers but it never happened since they were not visited after.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon receiving the second transfer, I spent KES12000 on clearing the school fees balance for my daughter who is currently preparing for her final examinations in primary school. It has been my wish to clear it up so that she may settle in and get ample time to prepare well for that examination. I also purchased 5 goats at KES2500 that I am currently rearing. I am keeping them with the hope of seeing them multiply to help me in meeting my upcoming financial needs in the future. I also obtained a new piece of furniture for my new house at KES3600 and used the remaining in obtaining foodstuff, kitchenware, and other household goods that we were still missing.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($510 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I became so happy the moment I realized that GiveDirectly had fulfilled their promise of sending us financial aid. I knew that with this money, I would be able to achieve a lot in life.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Before receiving the transfer, I only had one dairy cow and it had always been prayer to expand my dairy project but had not been able to due to insufficient funds. Receiving the transfer enabled me to purchase a heifer hence making my daily life different that it was before. This is due to the added responsibility of looking for more pastures to use in feeding my two cows. With this, I am optimistic that my income from the dairy project will soon increase after it calves. This will enable me to meet most of our needs on time.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my transfer, I bought a heifer worth KES 15000. When it calves, the income from the sale of surplus will enable me to meet some of our needs on time. Also, I used KES 10000 to pay school fees for my children so that they would not be sent back home. In addition to this, I purchased a cupboard and some seat cushions at KES 15000. I settled on this so that my utensils will always remain clean last long without breaking. Using the remaining amount, I bought some clothes for my children and food to last us for some time.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will mean a lot to me and my family. My husband and I depend on casual labour income to sustain the family. My ambition is to be a successful business woman and be able to help in providing for the family. A friend of mine sells second hand clothes and even though the business has it's up's and downs, she gets good return in profit, I believe if I venture into the same business I will be able to get an income and use it to invest in my children's education. My husband works at a local school as guard and gets paid 10,000 shillings each month. On a good month when I sell our farm produce I can get 5,000 shillings. Both income combines is still not enough for the households basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Each day I wake up at 6, prepare breakfast for my family then head to the farm, plough and milk the cows. I spend most of my day in the farm and taking care of my toddler. In the evening I get to rest and spend time with my husband and children and that's when am mostly happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced has been unemployment, my husband earns 10,000 shillings a month and his income is what we mostly depend on. During this pandemic his job security is unknown because one month they are in school the next pupils are asked to study online, meaning on such months he doesn't earn because his job is dependant on the presence of school children at school. This has resulted to financial straining for the family.