chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Chepkoech's Profile
Chepkoech's family
Chepkoech
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Chepkoech's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($535 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now own a dairy cow. It had always been my wish to own one but I had not been able to due to overwhelming family needs. This cow is my long term investment. When it reproduces, I will be selling milk to earn an income to use in paying school fees for my children. Also, it will help me reduce my daily expenditure hence I can be able to save some money.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 4 am when I received a message alert on my phone. Since I was already awake and listening to a radio, I decided to check it and know its content. Upon reading its contents, I became so happy and gave thanks to God for the blessings that had just come in.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my first transfer, I used part of it to buy a dairy cow for rearing. When it reproduces, I will be able to get milk for our consumption and also sell some to earn an income. Also, I bought some building materials which include iron sheets, timber, nails and also paid a mason for the construction of a spacious house for my family. I settled on this because the one we were living in was small and old. Also, renovating it would have been costly compared to the cost of building a new one. I used the remaining amount to buy some basic needs for my family. I bought some beddings, clothes and one sack of maize flour.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have a plan of spending the first transfer on three things.Building a house,buying a dairy cow and buying clothes and bedding for my children.This will cost me Kenya shillings 30,000. ,20,000. , and 5,000 respectively.The second transfer will enable me to do serious poultry farming and also boost crop farming.To boost crop farming I will start by using hybrid seeds and fertilizer to increase productivity.
What is the happiest part of your day?
After doing the house chores I go to my farm at around 9am.I work there till noon where I come back to prepare lunch.After lunch I wash clothes then relax till evening although sometimes I have to go back to my farm.I enjoy the afternoons especially when I am not going back to the farm because I get ample time to relax.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is financial constraints.I had a dream of studying pharmacy but due to lack of school fees I was not able to join college.This prompted me to get married to see if I will have a better life.However things did not get better because raising a family has more challenges especially raising up the children without a stable source of income.I have two children.My husband is just a casual labourer whereas I am a subsistence farmer.