GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
48
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($477 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
As a parent life feels meaningless when you cannot give your child the life he/she deserves mainly (education) , my child had stayed home for one year as a school dropout due to lack of money hence I spent the larger part of my third transfer on paying school fees for her and now I am happy as she is almost completing her high school education. I also bought sofa set seats .
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to buy 2 cows at 23000 KES, l also paid college fees worth 25000 KES for my child.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
There is a big difference in my life because l am milking the cow that I bought and let sell the milk to the community, my child also is going to school with out any problem.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy 2 sheep (6500), Solar lamp (1300), a bag of maize (1800) and food (800).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to pay secondary school fees for my child to resume learning and to farm with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to use part of the money to take back to school my son who dropped out of secondary school due to lack of school fees, then use the rest to renovate my house and buy cattle.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is building this house am living in right now. I used to live in a grass thatched house but now I have a better iron sheets house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is I don't have a stable income to take care of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am working on my farm land.