GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Teresha's Profile
Teresha's family
Teresha
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Teresha's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 15000 KES of the first lumpsum on paying school fee, bought building materials (nails, timber and iron sheets) at 18100 KES, bought bedding at 3500 KES, livestock at 5100 KES, a bag of maize at 2000 KES and clothing 2000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to sleep on mat but now I have a comfortable bed and a mattress.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6,000 KES as school fees (secondary school), 2,000 KES to buy a goat, 1,000 KES on farming expenses and 900 KES on dry maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a house as the one am living in is very small and also pay school fees for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fees for my children and expand my house a little since its small.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement has been taking care of my children since am the bread winner.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship has been making ends meet and making sure that my children are always in school
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part is when am doing my casual job since I know I will not go to bed hungry