chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Maxwell's Profile
Maxwell's family
Maxwell
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Construction (works for others)
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Maxwell's next check-in.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 25 days ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My greatest goal as a parent is to see my children reach the highest level of education there is. This is because I never got the chance to attend school and I have the struggle to reach where I am today hence I would not want my children to go through the same struggle like I did. I will do everything within my reach and out of my reach to see them through their education.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving payments from GiveDirectly is that my children are no longer sent home for school fees. I nowadays clear their termly fees thanks to the transfers I receive from GD.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my recent transfer, I added some amount to the money and settled my daughter's school fees. This is the reason I work hard every day I live home, to see my children get the best education there can be.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was very happy when I received this transfer. I knew that I was going to have ease paying school fees for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will first of all use this money to save and build a house in our rural home since my family is now growing and I still lack a house. Secondly I will use this money to invest in a shop business since I believe in this business I will be able to get enough profit and improve my lifestyle. I will also use this money to buy a livestock mostly a cow that will bring me milk and in future I will be able to pay for my dowry.
Describe your biggest worry.
My most troubling worry is always about my family since as a father my income is always very low and I have been striving to make ends meet and also to ensure that my children got better education than the one I received since personally I never got opportunity to get education. I also do worry about health issues where by at times when I feel sick I am always unable to go to work And the casual jobs I does requires a lot if energy and fitness.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to get money and start up an agribusiness in our rural home by breeding dairy cows and selling their milk to our local shops and homestead. I will also be engaging in farming especially of maize,Tomatoes and water melon and sell them.This will bring me good income and enhance my lifestyle and of my family.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In my usual day I do wake up very early in the morning and go for work and hustles which I does up to the evening and at times up to at night and occasionally I may sleep there in the work place. While in my free time or those times that I doesn't have a job, I do relax with my friends,i also do watch movies and go for ball games.