GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Loice's Profile
Loice's family
Loice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Loice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to build a new house (37000), Bought upholstered chairs (11000), paid a loan (1000) and bought food (1000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live in a small structure that looks like a house but with support from GD i have a semi-permanent iron roofed house that is spacious and safe for my family. I used to cook outside and my life was full of poverty, now i have good seats, access to food and i am so happy and thankful to GD
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 11 pieces of iron sheets which I'll use to build a new house. I also purchased other household items with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new spacious house with a larger portion of the transfer because my current house is small. I'm also planning to buy chairs with the remaining amount. Currently I only have 3 plastic chairs in my house which isn't enough.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy some more iron sheets and cement so that I can enlarge my house, I will also buy some livestock and hopefully if some cash remains I will furnish my new house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of are my two children in nursery school, this because even though I am struggling I have managed to save and started educating them.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of proper housing, this often means that during the rainy season my house is in danger of collapsing. Our family's income is also extremely low such that we cannot afford to build a house now.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning because the Lord has blessed me and I am able to look forward to getting some casual jobs.