chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different than it was four months ago because, with the transfers, I am always able to pay school fees for my children on time. I am also able to buy food for my household as well as buying my children some clothing. I thank God for the support GiveDirectly has been giving us.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
In the next four months, my new goal for my life is to build a new house. I am planning to buy some iron sheets and other building materials in bits which I shall use to build a house. The current one is small, old and leaky hence I do not have a good and adequate shelter for my family. I shall ensure that it has two-bedrooms of which one will be fully used by my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
In the last for months preceding the current transfer, the biggest difference in my life is buying and owning new household items which I did not have in the past. For instance, I used part of the transfers I had saved to buy a new mattress because I had a small and old one which was very uncomfortable. Moreover, I also currently own chairs I which I did not have at first and nowadays I am not ashamed when I have visitors around.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I expect to own a flock of sheep. I shall use the transfers to buy sheep which will be to me a remembrance of the philanthropic work GiveDirectly has done in our areas. Owning a flock of sheep will indeed change my life positively.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have been able to buy new iron sheets thta I plan to accumulate to the number that I require to build a new house. I now live in a small house taht is in a dilapidated state. The roof keeps leaking so much everytime it rains.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I will have already constructed a new big house that can comfortably accommodate every member of my family so that we do not have to squeeze in small structure that can barely accommodate us.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I would have relied on the casual jobs that I normally undertake within the village, for instance, I would have been cultivating land for people in the village and get paid some little penny maybe lets say 200 KES per day, which is never enough,and making any savings from such little payment is almost next to impossible.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal right now is to ensure that I buy the new iron sheets and other building materials that will be necessary for cosntructing anew house. Once that is done I will asave some little cash and buy a goat and a few sheep that I will serve as a reminder of how far thet organization changed my life.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
"The biggest hardship i have faced in life is meeting family basic needs. My husband is in the city and he has stayed for over one year without sending money for family upkeeps. Therefore, i normally spend the little wages i get from my work to pay my bills which always inadequate to carter for family needs."
What is the happiest part of your day?
"The happiest part of my day is day time, this is because, it is the time i interact a lot with people, and this makes me forget about the family burden i have. Unlike night time where i used to think a lot about my husband who has abandoned the family."
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
"I am planning to buy building materials like timber and iron sheet since i am living in a grass roofed/ grass thatched house."
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
"The achievement i am proudest of is that, as casual labourer, i have managed to paying school Levy for my child who is in class two, i have managed to buy clothes for my children as well as other basic needs."