GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Ruth's Profile
Ruth's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I finished building a house with 23000 KES, paid school fees 25000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal extending my own house and paying school fees.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have built a kitchen where my children and visitors can sleep. I am also feeling a big difference after paying school fees.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also paid school fees for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious house now.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying building materials (timber and iron sheets).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on expanding my co-wife's house.I also want to build a house for my son.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to do large scale farming, build a new house and to pay school fees for our children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming, I get to take care of my children, and sustain there lives through this.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face now is school fees, I have two children in secondary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up healthy.