GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Teresa's Profile
Teresa's family
Teresa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
35
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Teresa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy 500 birds (rainbow rooster crossbreed) KES 50000.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has helped boost my chicken rearing business and i will begin to sell the one month old birds for not less than KES 200 each. I am assured of paying school fees, meeting household needs and investing back into the business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used token payment to buy chick mash and vaccination for my day old chicks (7000) and to pay school fees (3000)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my upcoming lump-sum payment to buy more chicks and food for the household.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer on paying school fees for our two children in high school,one is in form two and the other in form one and lastly will use the rest to expand our poultry farming business which has been our major plan.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having been able to put up a poultry farming business which so far has been of help in sustaining my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing currently in my life is on paying school fees for my two children in high school,most of the times they are sent home and that makes them miss out on school lessons.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is normally in the evening when as a family we gather to take our evening meal.When the children share their stories freely and happily ,it also makes me happy.