GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 15 iron sheets at 9,000 KES, 25 roofing poles at 4,500 KES, 20 wall poles 6,000 KES, one still door at 4,500 KES, three still windows at 8,100 KES, one lorry of sand at 6,000 KES, paid 3,200 KES labor charge, 6,000 KES school fee for my child, bought one water tank at 1,200 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now in a spacious house and I have some of the things which I never had before.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a bed and a mattress a water super drum and cooking utensils. I also used the remaining 200KES to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend your upcoming lumpsum payment on building a bigger house with steel doors and windows. I will also buy furniture’s to equip my new house.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First,we would like to build a new house since the one we have right now is small hence cannot accommodate our expanding family.Secondly,we would like to own and build a pit latrine since we don't have one.Lastly,we would like to spend the rest on school
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I am proudest that my husband has paid my dowry and that now I am officially his wife.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we've faced is the burden of raising school fees because we lack a proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during lunch hour when I am having a meal together with my family.