chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Juliana's Profile
Juliana's family
Juliana
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
21
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($485 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My husband was jobless after losing his job, he was our breadwinner, We had to depend on well-wishers and casual jobs to survive, life was rough and unbearable, but all this is in the past, We have a motorcycle that we bought with the transfer money, it's now our source of income because my husband ventured into a motorcycle taxi business, I am so happy and grateful that we no longer go to bed on an empty stomach, we will forever be indebted to GiveDirectly.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does its work well by treating everyone with respect, they visited all the houses without discriminating against anyone, I don't see anything that is not done well, GiveDirectly Staffs are professionals in their work.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My major issue has been unemployment, we don't have a Source of income because my husband lost his job recently, him losing his job was a huge blow to our family because he was the breadwinner, life was rough on our side, Fortunately GiveDirectly came to our aid, I was happy and relieved, I used my transfer in acquiring a motorcycle worth KES 40000 for my husband to start a motorcycle taxi, I then used the remaining part of the transfer in buying foodstuffs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($510 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
My phone was charging at my neighbor's house when I heard the news that people have received their transfer. I was relaxing outside my house after completing my morning chores when I heard people celebrating for receiving their money. I went to check my phone and I found out that I have received my transfer. Likewise, I felt very happy after receiving my transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Being debt free is the biggest difference in my life. We now have peace of mind with my husband after completing the dowry payment. This is because our culture requires a man to fully pay dowry for him to earn respect in the community and ownership of a wife.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent $150 to purchase bedding for myself. This because I sleep on the floor with small mattress which left me with a lot of back pains in every morning. Also used $150 to purchase one indigenous daily cow so that we may reduce the bundle of purchasing milk every morning which is costly. The remaining amount was used by my husband to clear the dowry payment to my father.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have always wanted a source of income for my young family but lack of funds has been derailing me. This money will therefore help me buy 5 goats at a cost of 150 USD. Goat rearing is a bit easier since looking after them does not require a lot of food and water which is a challenge in this region. I will then use 350 USD to build a two bed room house which will be spacious enough unlike the current one.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I wake up at 6 am and go to the farm till 9am. I then go and fetch water then come back to do the household chores. After cooking lunch, I relax in the afternoon since the sun is usually very hot. Morning is the happiest part of my day since I usually do almost all of my day's activities. This is before the scorching sun starts to hit.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I depend on farming to get food and money for my daily needs. However prolonged drought has really affected my income and led to a lot of struggle in getting food. This has forced my spouse to move to the nearest town in search of casual jobs. The casual jobs also pay very little and are not available all the time. Financial constraints has therefore remained to be my biggest hardship.