chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Linet's Profile
Linet's family
Linet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Linet's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build a kitchen so l bought building materials at 19280 kshs, labor-charge 6500 kshs, l also spent 10000 kshs pay school fees to my child in secondary school, l also bought cow at 12000 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because all my children were sleeping with me in the same house but now they have a place in sleep in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 8000 and gave my daughter pocket money and shoping ksh 1850.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on building a new house and a kitchen.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to invest in business, buy a ploughing machine and two cows for farming and to pay school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming. We do both commercial and subsistence farming. I am able to provide for my family through this.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face is the burden of school fees. Our income sources are quite limited.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when cooking meals for my husband and kids. All breakfast, lunch and supper.