GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lamas's Profile
Lamas's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Lamas's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 9600 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on 15 iron sheets and I invested the remaining 40125 KES in a a general shop.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life that I can mention is the shop that I have opened that generates for me daily income; I am now able to provide for my household members better than before which has fostered love and peace in the house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy 10 iron-sheets at 6400 kshs and nails at 750 the remaining a mount l spent to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build a house since l am staying in a market center.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on building myself a house,I stay in a single room at our nearby center which is not a good environment for my son.I would wish to have a house of my own and get married again.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having been able to save money from fishing and bought two goats that hopefully after they grow bigger I will sell to buy one big cow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship in my life currently on raising my son single handedly after his mother passed on,it is difficult to move around with my fishing activities and leave him behind without any person to check on him.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is normally in the morning when I go for my fishing activities in the lake.Since this is the only source of my livelihood,I find happiness when I get some income to feed my son from.