chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Esther
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
67
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Esther's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought sand for 7,000 KES, 10 bags of cement for 8,000 KES, two windows for 7,000 KES and paid 5,000 KES as labour upto this time. The rest of the transfer is yet to be used but will be used to finish up plastering the house and also buying other things.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am plastering my house and I will not have to do constant repairs on my walls each time it rains and the floor is also very easy to clean.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spend 4000 kshs to pay school fees to my grand daughter , l also bought super-dram at 2000 kshs the remaining 6000 kshs l spend in buying two cows.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to plaster my house since it is very dusty, l also want to buy water-tank because l am becoming very old and l will not be able to get water from the river.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to expand my farming and buy equipments that I can use to spray my tomatoes and kales. I will also pay school fees for my grandchild.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I depend on my farming in order to feed my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that my family has been living in poverty,my children have married and no dowry has been taken to any of the in-laws which is really stressing us up.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of our day is when we are together as a family sharing a meal.