GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Millicent's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 33,000KES on buying 2 oxen for ploughing my piece of land. I also spent 15,000KES as capital for shoe selling business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was tired of digging my farm by myself, but now it will be easier ploughing with the oxen, and I will be able to produce more food. I also get some income from the shoe selling business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 8000 KES of my token payment on a heifer, 1200 KES on a super drum and the remaining 800 KES of the transfer on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
God willing, I will buy a land and start in shoe business using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to buy land where l can build a home and stay with my children. Secondly I would wish to open up a business to generate income to help me support my children. Finally l would like to hire a piece of land where l can do farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l struggled to work hard to up bring my children as a single mother.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when I have some casual jobs from which l can earn some money to buy food for my children.