chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > George's Profile
George's family
George
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
49
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on George's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build my house my house so l bought building materials at 21510 kshs, labor-charge 9500 kshs, l also paid fees of 10000 kshs, the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because l was staying in a very small house but now l am staying a spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to buy cushions (1800), a mattress (2000), utensils (1500), food (2000), clothes and shoes (2600).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to enroll our child in college and plaster our house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on expanding the size of my house as it is small,I will spend part of the transfer on paying school fees for my children and the remaining amount I will use it in building a toilet as we don't have any in our compound.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to buy a cow using cash that I got from the sale of charcoal.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I have school going children who need school fees with one who is about to join college but my income from my business is very low to support them fully.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning to burn charcoal for sale,I am happy to know that I will be able to sell and have money to support my family.