chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kadzo's Profile
Kadzo's family
Kadzo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
52
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different that before since I had bought my plot of land but I lacked the finances to build my house. Through the transfer, they assisted me to meet my wish. Also I own some livestocks one cow and 2 goats which is my investment for my family in case of uncertainty. Also when it give birth I will be able to get milk and sell same to my neighbour to earn a living.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, Givedirectly did something good for assisting us with the transfer that helped us to meet the desires of our hearts.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer to purchase 28 iron sheets, 7 bags of cement this was for the construction of a new house. I had purchase my piece of land and I needed to start building a new home for my family. Also, we purchased household utensils since did not have any. Finally, I bought 2 goats with the remaining amount.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received the transfer notification early in the morning. I could not believe that I had received KES 55000 in my phone. I was filled with happiness when I realised that it was from GiveDirectly.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now owning a cow. I did not have any plan to buy livestock since I could not afford to buy any. I am happy that with this cow, I am expecting it reproduce and have many more. I will be getting milk for my family's consumption and sell the surplus. Also, I can readily sell the offspring to help me out in case of a financial need.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer on buying a cow. I resolved to buy the cow because in the near future it will help me as it reproduces and increase in number. I will be getting milk to sell thus earning an income. My son had completed his course but his certificate was being held due to fee arrears I had not cleared. Thus I took KES 9000 to clear the fees for my son to be given his certificate. This will enable him to look for employment with his certificates. I also renovated my house which was in a state of collapsing due to the many cracks and its roof dilapidated. I bought some iron sheets and nails and building poles to rebuild the house. I also paid for the labour cost.
 
Enrolled
access_time 10 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means education for my son and 4 grandchildren. I will be able to clear my son's debt of 10,000 shillings so he can complete his electrical course and also support my grandchildren with school fees, stationery and uniform throughout their primary level of education.In addition I will use 30,000 shillings buy oxen and an ox plough to increase production in my farm for subsistence use.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I love Sundays and the happiest part of my day is mainly morning. This is because I get to go to church to fellowship with other believers. I get encouraged to hear their testimonies and this gives me hope for a better tomorrow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is financial constraints. This is because I earn a meagre 24 dollars a month to cater for food, education and other basic needs for my family of six which is very insufficient. Due to this, my son has not yet cleared college because am unable to pay 80 dollars for his fees.