GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Charles
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Charles's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a piece of land for 30000 KES, bought a cow 10000 KES, school fees 10000 KES, maize 2400 KES, bought clothes for the whole family and food with the rest of the transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is having bought a piece of land and moved from a flood prone land. I am also able to provide food for the family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l use a total of 5000kshs to pay school fees for my children, l also spend 3000kshs to buy three sucks of maize at 1000kshs each, l bought Goat at 1800kshs and the remaining a mount l use for my child uniform.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am staying in a very swampy place so am planning to land and build house there.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees, expand my house and to install steel doors and windows.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is building this house. As a father I feel full filled. My wife and kids are happy here because they have a place to call home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees. Two of our children joined high school this year. It's quite expensive.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I do farm work.