GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Benard's Profile
Benard's family
Benard
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
69
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
47900 KES ($466 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($484 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent most of my second to buy iron sheets and steel doors which I have used in my new house and has also enhanced the security of my house. I also bought a sack of maize for my family's consumption and also paid my laborers who were building my house
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now live in a big house which is plastered, has windows for fresh air as compared to the one I was living in which was smeared with mud.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($97 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying one bag of maize and I also sank a latrine that I had been planning to do for a very long time
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt very happy when I received the cash, this gave me hope of sinking a latrine because I didn't have a latrine during that time
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy window frames and panes which I will install in my house. I also plan on buying barbed wire, nails and cedar poles which I will use to fence my homestead. If there are any funds remaining I plan on buying a dairy cow which will provide my family with milk and also pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having been a successful farmer and managed to educate my children with proceeds from the sale of my crops.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to pay school fees for my children. If I am unable to raise the required fees they may drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my children come home from school and we chat as we wait for dinner. Having my family around me always makes me very happy.