chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Ben's Profile
Ben's family
Ben
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ben's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 25,000KES on buying ironsheet, timber and nails, and built an iron roofed house. I also bought a cow @20,000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had always wished to buy cattle for keeping, but i could not raise the money, am glad I now have my own cattle and live in a good house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4000 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 2000 KES on a sack of maize and I paid school fees balance for my son using the remaining 4000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to pay dowry and use the rest of my upcoming lumpsum payment on expanding my main house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to buy some livestock to keep,I will also plaster my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that am determined in whatever I do,I was so down when I found out I was positive but I accepted my status and am now living healthy and am blessed with children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have to take care of my sister who is a widow,together with her children and I have no source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am able to encourage someone into accepting their status.