GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jared's Profile
Jared's family
Jared
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
40
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer to install a posh mill to generate my income.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that my children are going to school and I'm taking good care of my family.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion,GD has improved many lives in our village with the unconditional cash transfer.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I added some money to my second transfer and bought a second hand maize milling diesel run miller.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I constructed a pit latrine in my compound with the first transfer and this saved me the embarrassment of using my neighbour's latrine all the time and now the maize miller will give me daily income when the village members come to mill their maize for flour.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l am planning to build pit-latrine so l spent 8650 KES of the transfer to buy building materials the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to add some cash to upcoming transfer to buy corn grinding machine.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We're planning to spend our transfer on expanding our canteen business and also investing on charcoal trading business since these are our main sources of income hence would wish to see them expand.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement we're proudest of is having been able to save money and bought some livestock that we're raising and also bought a motorcycle that is currently hired out for some fees.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we're facing currently is on paying school fees for our two children in class eight and should be joining secondary school next year,our first born child who is in college also needs huge fees in order to finish his college.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when we gather as a family to take our evening meal.We leave in the morning to run our errands as the children also leave for school,meeting in the evening is always a joy filled moment.