chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Tailoring
faceAge:
39
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to buy a sheep for 1000 KES, 5000 KES i spent to buy mattress, 2000 KES i spent to buy water tank, 6000 KES i paid hospital bill for my son, 4000 KES i spent on transport to take the child to hospital, 3000 KES i spent to buy chicken, 7000 KES i spent to buy 180 kg of corn for family consumption, 1000 KES i spent to pay fee for my children and 20000 KES i spent to pay loan at our Sacco.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is the ability to clear hospital bill for my son and the chicken business i started which will earn income for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a donkey with 5000 KES and spent 5000 KES on buying utensils and foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will treat my sick son, pay him school fees and buy a tailoring machine with my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a sewing machine, and rolls of cloth, so that I can set up a tailoring and dress making business. I know tailoring, but currently I am only using another person's sewing machine as I don't have one of my own.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is taking care of my children by fending for them even in the face of difficult circumstances.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is poor health. I have a recurrent chest problem that has refused to completely go away. This makes it hard for me to go about my work.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I know there is some food in the house, or when I have the money to buy some.