GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Karisa's Profile
Karisa's family
Karisa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Karisa's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 days ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have never had any source of income for quite too long with a wife and four children to take care of. The only thing I have been doing for a living is casual jobs that are rarely available throughout. My first two sons dropped out of school due to lack of school fees and they're still here at home without any economic involvement. I learnt a big lesson fro that and right now I want to do anything within my power to ensure that the remaining two get to whatever level depending on their ability. Getting this money will enable me to realize that dream and for sure it will be unmatched joy when I accomplish that. Currently my children are paying school fees of 2500 KES each per academic term. I can comfortably afford this with my transfers
What is the happiest part of your day?
I can't say I'm happy because I'm completely broke most of the time. This is because the types of casual jobs I depend on are not available throughout. However, I have felt a lot of joy since I heard of GiveDirectly's plan to work in our village. Even though I have not yet qualified, I have hopes of benefitting from this project that has potential to change my life completely. I'm already happy at that prospect.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
It's always so sad when a parent is not able to provide the most basic of all needs which is food effectively! It always pains me a lot to to be completely out of cash when there's an emergency that requires money like medical one, or even being unable to provide food for your family regularly. All these stem from lack of a reliable source of income as I only have casual jobs to depend on.