GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Michael's Profile
Michael's family
Michael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Michael's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on purchase of a 2nd hand motorbike for 70,000 KES – I borrowed 20,000 KES
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in our lives is that we never imagined we could start a business due to high poverty, but now we run our own and we make average profit of about 300 KES daily from which we are able to meet basic household expenses
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
a matress @6,000KES and a sack of maize @2,000KES for consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy oxen and plough for preparing my piece of land for cultivation so that I may produce enough food for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a new house
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have really struggled to much and have constructed a house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when my children were sent out of school due to fee arrears and I was broke at that time. They almost dropped out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am able to get food for my family.