<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Felix's Profile
Felix's family
Felix
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($246 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different from how it was four months ago because l am now staying in a nice spacious iron roofed house, where I do not feel embarrassed to welcome my visitors.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
My new goal is to save money from my fish business and be able to use the savings to pay dowry to my inlaws because they have been pressurising me so much about paying dowry.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that l am now staying in a iron roofed house where I am never worried about rainnny seasons compared to before when I used to be worried, more so when it used to rain when I was not at home. I have earn a name in the village, I am now able to interact, socialize and share with my agemates something that I was just longing for.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months l expect to have saved enough money and paid dowry to my in laws and created good relationship with my in laws .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
23675 KES ($236 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I was able to build a new house, something that has always been just a dream for a very long time. I have now started planting trees within my own compound.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I will have paid dowry to my in-laws something that has been stressful to me for quite a long time. I will also quit my fishing job because it is so demanding.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different because I now have a house, something that I did not have in the past.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goals right now includes buying a cow that I will use to pay dowry to my in-laws.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is sickness to two of my sons which came at a time when I don't have money to acquire better treatment.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am back home and talking with my son and being able to teach him.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to spend my transfer in building a new house since I had never earned enough cash to help me build .
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to save my little earning from potatoes farming and bought a motorbike which I now use as a source of income.