chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Garama's Profile
Garama's family
Garama
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Garama's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 11 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was in the house at around 1000Hrs in the morning, when I heard a message come into my phone. When I checked my phone, it was the Mpesa message for the transfers and I was very very happy. I am so grateful.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I was able to purchase and own my very own piece of land, that I intend to use it to develop rental houses.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers to purchase a piece of land that I intend to develop for rentals. I have had this project in mind for a very long time but I had no where to find the finances that would enable me to buy a piece of land. When I received the transfers, I knew this was where I would utilise most of the transfers, so that I can finally achieve this dream. I am a casual laborer, while my wife is a housewife. We have six children who all depend on my casual engagements, which can also be unreliable to come by at times. I am very grateful to GiveDirectly as I am now a step ahead to achieving my dream of owning rental houses.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My ambition has to practice livestock keeping but due to financial challenges this dream has never materialized. I am planning to spend 60,000 shillings of the transfer to purchase 3 oxen and an ox plough . This will generate income my family because I will hiring out to other people to cultivate their land during rainy seasons.In 1 acre, I can make at least 2000 shillings. This money is going to sustain my family needs such as food and school fees. Other than that,I will spend the remaining amount to clear school fees for my child who is in high school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Evening is my happiest part of the day. It is at this time when I have time to rest after a long day of doing casual jobs such as mining which is energy draining.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of a good source of income is my biggest challenge. I am a casual laborer who works in a mining site within our village. In a week I can earn 2000 shillings, but it is not guaranteed. Sometimes it can take two months without customers shopping up.