GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
74
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer,I bought the necessary building materials including 26 iron sheets at 15600 KES , timbers at 5000 KES, a lorry of murram at 4000 KES and I saved the remaining 25400 KES awaiting to finish accomplishing my construction project.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now living a healthier life since I started receiving transfers from GD: I take better meals that make me live longer day by day, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 2000 KES on a mattress, 3000 KES on a bed, 1000 KES on my grandchild's school fees and 800 KES on my treatment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on building ahouse and buying goats.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house because my current house is old, I will also buy an ox-plough and a bull for farming, buy household furniture such as a bed and chairs and use the remaining amount on my grandchild's school fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am a hard worker, I work hard and raise money to buy food and clothes for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is poor health. I have persistent back ache and so I can not work as hard as I used to.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up feeling well.