chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets at 13,000 KES, one still door at 8,000 KES, two still windows at 7,200 KES, one mattress at 5,000 KES, used 800 KES on transportation, paid 10,000 KES school fee for my child in high school, paid 2,000 KES loan for my solar lamp, bought a sack of maize at 2,700 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am not having much trouble getting what to eat with my children as before because I now have some food bought by the transfer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used to my token payment to buy household utensils, clothes, blanket (4550), a solar lamp (2000) and food (3400).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house and plaster it with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my funds on my daughter's high school education, expand my house because it's small and plaster it to prevent dust related infections.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I work hard to feed my children and we do not beg for food and clothes.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of sufficient resources to educate my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up a live and able to do my work and earn money.