chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mirabu's Profile
Mirabu's family
Mirabu
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
28
workCampaign
Standard Uganda
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Mirabu's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 24 days ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will be able to complete my iron-roofed house. I started building iron-roofed house but it ended at the ring beam level due to inadequate money for completing it. Iam forced to continue staying in a leaking grass thatched house with unbearable conditions of coldness. Once I receive this money , my plan will be to complete the house. My household members will thereafter enjoy staying in non leaking but rather comfortable accommodation.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest moments is always evening hours. Normally my day start from morning to afternoon doing various things that can help in making a living . I find time during evening hours since we garther together as extended family sharing a meal. It's at this point we share interesting issues for the family development.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of an income generating activity. I only rely on crop farming which in most cases is not reliable due to weather issues. I have failed in managing most of my family responsiblities like providing better shelter , food and health care services.