chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rehema's Profile
Rehema's family
Rehema
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rehema's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($528 USD)
access_time 14 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Owning the goats has made my life to be so different so far. I settled in buying goats because, first, they can live in any climatic condition, they can easily be maintained, they reproduce twice a year and they mature faster compared to other domestic animals. I have been longing to rear them for a long period but I could not afford it because they were costly and I had some basic needs to cater to too. The coming of GiveDirectly had changed everything in my life completely because currently, they have started reproducing which is giving me hope as a farmer. When the offsprings mature and increase in number I will exchange them for a dairy cow and making me wealthier, because I will achieve a lot after selling them. From the benefits I will be getting I will be able to pay school fees for my children with ease unlike before when I used to strain to get their school fees.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I remember vividly it was around 3 am when I heard the message notification on my mobile phone. When I checked what the message was all about, I confirmed it was an Mpesa message from GiveDirectly informing me that they had sent my first part of the transfer they had promised. I was overwhelmed with joy at the moment and I could not sleep again.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying some building materials like twenty pieces of iron sheet, building poles some nails. I wanted a new house because the previous one was in bad condition and very small. Whenever it could rain it rained on me which was so stressing. I then bought a bed and a matress. I had been sleeping on an old mat which was very uncomfortable. I never longed for the night to fall because I could never have a good night's sleep. When I woke up, my whole body could ache. This changed. Because of the frequent droughts we experience here in my village, I also decided to purchase a water tank for water reservoir purposes, two goats for rearing and clearing hospital bills for my son who was admitted sometime back and I had not settled the bill for lack of money. Thanks to GiveDirectly.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Changing my livelihood by owning a sewing machine, constructing a spacious house, buying beddings and livestock is what receiving this money means to me. Currently, I am just a house wife despite having dress making skills. This has forced me to depend on my husband who is working at a posho mill as a labourer and his income is not enough to sustain our basic needs. The arrival of GiveDirectly to my household has a great relief on me, because I plan to use my first transfer to purchase a sewing machine for myself in order to start tailoring business. I will also use the remaining amount for the first disbursement to buy beddings to replace the old ones. My second transfer will aid on constructing a house and buying of livestock. This will change my life for the better and hence, it is this transformation that is basically what receiving this money means to me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Since I am a house wife, I spend the better part of my day at home. When I wake up in the morning, the work I do is to fetch water from a tap that is two kilometers away from my home. When I am back home, I prepare our first meal for the day that we share together with my family. It is at this time when I get ample time to rest and chat with my mother in-law when sharing our meals. Therefore, I consider afternoon as the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Depending on my husband as the solely breadwinner for the family makes me feel that, I am failing in terms of offering support in providing for the family. I am just a house wife and the only work I can do is subsistence farming, a venture that is not sustaining due to the droughts we experience in our area. Therefore, I consider lack of a reliable source of income as my biggest hardship.