chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emmanuel's Profile
Emmanuel's family
Emmanuel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
21
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emmanuel's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 25 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was a busy day like any other day until when I was taking some breath and I checked on my phone. I noticed I had an Mpesa message indicating that I had received Kes 55000 to my mobile money account from GiveDirectly. I was so happy as I knew that my plans would be achieved.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My biggest difference in my daily life is that we now live in a more comfortable house with more space. Moreso a house with plastered floor. It would have been a great struggle if I would have raised money on my own but I thank GiveDirectly for thier support which enabled me to make a great step in life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My recent transfers which I received from GiveDirectly, I spent the whole amount on renovating and expanding my house. I purchased building materials and use it to extend another room to make it three and plaster the floor of our house. I opted to do have these renovation so that I would have a space where my children can sleep separately. I also wanted to make work easier for my spouse while cleaning the house. Cemented floor is easier to maintain unlike mad floor.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My ambition has always to start a business and receiving this money mean steady source of income. Recently we separated with my wife since I was unable to pay dowry of 5 cows. I am motorcycle taxi operator earning an average income of Ksh 300 a day and I have been struggling to make ends meet. The job itself is tiresome and I am planning to use Ksh 20,000 of my transfer to start salon business. Running both salon and motorcycle business will boost my household since I will be able to meet most of my needs and save enough to pay the dowry.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening. This is because I spend the entire day working as a motorcycle operator. Going home with my hard earned cash in the evening is the joy of my life.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial constraints is the biggest hardship I have faced in life. Two months ago, we separated with my wife owing to the fact that I was unable to pay dowry of 5 cows and I am on the verge of losing self confidence. I have been trying to figure out where to get the dowry but all in vain. I am now planning to venture into a lucrative business of a salon in order to get some earnings, save some and pay dowry in the near future. Thanks to Give Directly for coming in handy.